Skip to content

My First Gluten Free Thanksgiving

November 28, 2008

Well my first gluten free Thanksgiving has now come and gone, and it was a success! Fortunately, converting our traditional recipes to be gluten free wasn’t a big deal as most of them were safe already. The main differences: we had to buy gluten free pie crusts for the pies, and we had to use gluten free bread and cornbread in the making of the dressing. The menu:

  • Roasted turkey
  • Dressing – The cornbread was made from scratch using gluten free cornmeal, and we used Whole Foods’ frozen gluten free bread (I accidentally bought the sun-ripened tomato, basil, and garlic flavor, but it didn’t really affect the taste of the dressing, thank goodness)
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Green peas
  • Vegetable tray that included carrots, celery, broccoli, cauliflower, and radishes
  • Fruit tray that included apples, kiwi, and pickles
  • Cranberry sauce
  • Pumpkin pie with homeade whipped cream – We used Whole Foods’ gluten free pie crusts
  • Gluten free yellow cake with chocolate icing made from scratch (brought by my brother’s fiance)

My mother cooked the entire Thanksgiving dinner, and I’m thankful that she (and the rest of my family) are so understanding of my needs. All in all, the meal was very delicious!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2008 6:44 pm

    Wow! That’s an awesome Thanksgiving menu! I must say I used the WF gf pie crusts until I found Breads by Anna brand. Now I use it for everything from savory quiches to sweet desserts (pies and lemon bars). The bag is about $4 here and it makes two crusts. You can make it all at once and freeze the extra dough for many months. It’s even better than the old gluten frozen crust I used all my life before going gluten free. Happy Holidays!!!

  2. gfgirlaustin permalink
    December 1, 2008 9:49 am

    TJ: Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll definitely have to give the Anna brand pie crust a try for my Christmas dinner!

Leave a Reply

