Skip to content

Still Learning

December 15, 2008

I went to my second Alamo Celiac meeting on Saturday (the support group I’m a member of), and I learned a few things. First, apparently about 60% of people who switch to a gluten free diet gain weight. This seems counter-intuitive to me because they’ve just cut out huge portions of their diet, but supposedly it has to do with the flours. Gluten free flour is often made from processed white rice and contains a lot of starches, so it’s less healthy than it’s glutinous counterpart. But according to our speaker Melinda Dennis, registered dietician and Nutrition Coordinator of the Celiac Center at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, using flours made from amaranth, teff, and millet are much healthier. I guess I’ll try to incorporate these into my food as much as possible!

The second thing I learned is that people with Celiac disease, due to the disease being an autoimmune disorder, are on the list of people who should get the flu shot. This is because we basically have malfunctioning immune systems and therefore have a more difficult time recovering from illnesses. Given that the last time I got a flu shot, I got the flu, I’m not too excited about getting another one. But I guess in light of this knowledge, I probably should. (And really, it makes sense. It seems that it’s always taken me longer to recover from colds and flus than other people, and I also tend to get infections easily.)

Overall I enjoyed the meeting once again, and will continue to go to them as they occur. Besides, there are always free samples of gluten free food there, and how can I say no to that?!?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2009 9:48 am

    Did you meet Anne Barfield at the Alamo Celiac meeting? You and the Boyfriend should treat yourselves to a weekend (or night) at her B&B in San Antonio. We had an amazing visit there last September (added the trip to a wedding in Dallas) and had the most amazing food eating out we’ve had in the US, excluding that in Atlanta and NYC. San Antonio rocks gluten free!

  2. gfgirlaustin permalink
    March 3, 2009 9:52 am

    Cool, thanks for the tip! I know of the B&B, but I haven’t had to opportunity to go. I’ll have to try it out sometime!

Leave a Reply

