Skip to content

A Better Perspective

February 20, 2009

Most of the time I still feel like “Why me?” when I think about Celiac disease, but sometimes, like today, it dawns on me just how lucky I am. Yes, I have an incurable life-long disease, but as far as those things go, I probably have the best one out there. All I have to do is stay GF, and I become a completely normal human being – no symptoms, no complications, nothing. And on top of that, unlike most other Celiacs I’ve met, I don’t have any other food allergies. I don’t have to avoid rice or corn or nuts, and I can drink all the milk I want.

Since going GF, I’ve had a healthier diet, I’ve tried (and liked!) foods that I never would have come near before, and I’ve started teaching myself to cook. I’ve educated myself about a little known medical condition, and I pass that knowledge on to as many people as I can. What more can I ask for? Staying 100% GF is difficult, but nothing worthwhile in life is ever easy. If anything, I’m becoming a stronger person for having Celiac disease, and for that, I’m thankful.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

