Skip to content

Update: Maladies

March 25, 2009

I had my appointment with the ENT doctor yesterday to check for exercise-induced vocal cord dysfunction. He didn’t make me do the stress test, thank goodness; he just listened to my history and descriptions of my attacks. But he said that based on that alone he was quite confident that I do in fact have VCD. So I have an appointment with a speech pathologist to start learning to counter the attacks (i.e. relax my vocal cords) on Friday. I’m annoyed about having to see more doctors, but you gotta do what you gotta do I guess. Another irritating thing is that my allergist wants me to continue to carry around my EpiPen (just in case I ALSO have anaphylaxis) until we’re absolutely certain that my attacks can be controlled with the speech exercises alone. I know it’s best not to take chances with this sort of thing, but I’m tired of having to teach everybody I run with how to inject epinephrine, not to mention having to carry it around with me everywhere. Hopefully I’ll pick up on these breathing exercises quickly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marlaina permalink
    April 15, 2009 11:12 am

    At least you didn’t have to do the camera down the throat that would suck!! I hate that you have to go through all of this!!

    • gfgirlaustin permalink
      April 15, 2009 12:46 pm

      Haha yeah me too. I had my first speech therapy appointment yesterday (the first actual therapy session, rather than the initial evaluation). It was pretty strange, and the therapist gave me a bunch of breathing exercises to practice throughout the day. I look pretty stupid doing them… I’m just waiting for somebody to walk by my cube and be like WTF? Good times.

Leave a Reply

