Skip to content

GF Cooking Class and Baking Bread

April 22, 2009

About a month ago, the Boyfriend (who is not GF) and I took a gluten free cooking class together, taught by Jennifer Cinquepalmi (author of The Complete Book of Gluten Free Cooking). The class wasn’t hands-on – we watched her cook and then tasted the results – but I enjoyed it none the less. She made quinoa spinach salad with rice bread, confetti spaghetti, salisbury steak with teff bread, and carrot cake with cream cheese icing. Most of the dishes were pretty good, but the confetti spaghetti, the rice bread, and the carrot cake especially stood out.

The confetti spaghetti was basically just spaghetti noodles, a bunch of julienned vegetables (carrots, peppers, etc.), GF bread crumbs, and spices. The flavor was excellent, and even the Boyfriend cleaned his plate – including the vegetables! The carrot cake was the most delicious carrot cake I’ve ever eaten. The flavor and texture were perfect, and the Boyfriend and I are both excited to try making that one ourselves sometime in the future. But in my opinion, the rice bread was the biggest and most delightful surprise. When I took my first bite, I was blown away by how sweet and delicious it was and by how good the texture was. Most GF breads I’ve tried have been less than stellar, but this one was wonderful. I tried it before my boyfriend did and told him how great it was. But when he took a bite, he made a face and put his slice back on the plate. “That is NOT regular bread.” Hahaha. I guess I’ve finally become used to the GF diet! No matter; I took his slice when I finished my own and enjoyed it just the same.

One thing I really liked about the class was that Jennifer paid close attention to the nutrition content of her foods, and she was very knowledgeable. She was able to answer most questions, usually referring to something in her cookbook as she did so. Although I originally had no intentions of purchasing her book, after the class I decided it might be worthwhile. I was especially intrigued by the numerous bread recipes made from different grains offered in the book, and her rice bread was so delicious that I decided to go for it. The next weekend I tried making her sweet white sorghum bread, and guess what? It was delicious! I haven’t made any of the other foods yet, but I have a feeling I’m really going to like this book!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

