Skip to content

Careers

April 24, 2009

Sometimes I worry that I’m not in the right job. Mostly I enjoy what I do – the work is interesting and I like the people here. But I don’t LOVE my job. And I REALLY can’t stand sitting at a desk all day. I was hoping that feeling would pass with time as I got more used to it, but I’ve been doing this for almost 11 months now and I still can’t stand it. Sitting in one place for 8 hours and staring at a computer screen just isn’t not my idea of fun. I feel like I should be moving about engaging people such as a school teacher or wedding planner does.

There are a lot of problems with changing careers though. First of all, there’s no way to know for sure that I would like my new job better than my old one until I actually had it. And getting the job would be no easy task – it would most likely require spending lots of money to go back to school. And that means long nights studying while also managing the career I’ve got. On top of that, the careers I’m most interested in besides engineering would mean big paycuts. I am a strong believer in “money isn’t everything,” but when you get accustomed to making a certain amount of money each month, it’s very difficult to want to cut that number down by 30%.

As a result, I’ll probably forever be an engineer, and I think I’m okay with that. I just find it difficult not to long for something else sometimes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

