Skip to content

Sleep

May 7, 2009

Recently, I haven’t been sleeping well. It started this past Sunday, the night I flew home from California. I’d had a wonderful visit with family, and I was preparing to go back to work the following morning. I opted to skip going out to dinner* because I was tired from travelling, so I ate at home and then went to bed. But once I got in bed, I couldn’t fall asleep. I lay there for an hour and a half waiting for sleep to come, and when that didn’t work I tried listening to the radio for 30 minutes. After that I tried flipping on a light and reading for a while, but an hour later sleep was still nowhere in sight. I did eventually pass out, but even then I kept waking up every 30 minutes or so. It was the least restful night I’ve had in ages. At the time, the Boyfriend chalked it up to jet lag, but I’ve had the same problem every night since. I can’t seem to fall asleep, and when I do, and I can’t stay asleep. Last night was the best night’s rest I’ve had since Sunday – it still took me 3+ hours to fall asleep, but once I did I slept fairly soundly. Still, I feel incredibly sleep deprived, and I’ve been quite foggy-headed and cranky as a result.

I assume my inability to sleep is stress-related, but I’m not really sure how to fix it. Most of the things that are stressing me out right now aren’t really under my control. I guess that means I shouldn’t stress over them, but that’s a lot easier said than done. Besides, this isn’t the first time I’ve been stressed out, and it’s never affected my sleep patterns before (at least not for longer than a single night). What makes this time different? I hope it goes away soon because it’s really taking a toll on my body, brain, and emotions alike!

*It was National Chef to Plate Awareness Day, which is a day celebrating restaurants that offer gluten free food choices, and I had been planning to go support one of the local participants.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

