Skip to content

It’s Been Awhile…

July 30, 2009

It’s been awhile since I last posted, and a lot has happened. July 16 (exactly 2 weeks ago) was the 1 year anniversary of my diagnosis with Celiac disease, and although it may sound strange, I decided to have a celebration. Not to celebrate being diagnosed with a disease, but to celebrate managing to successfully eat gluten free for an entire year, despite the challenges. Nine of my closest friends and family joined me at the Outback Steakhouse (which has quite an extensive GF menu, including drinks and dessert!) for a wonderful meal and plenty of laughter. I have the best friends/family in the world. They all support me and help me as much as they can as I struggle to maintain this lifestyle, and it was so nice to be able to celebrate a year of success with the people I love most.

In other news, the Fiance and I bought a house! Well, technically we haven’t closed on it yet because it’s still being built, but we signed a contract and we’ll close next month. I can’t wait to finally live with him under the same roof!

The wedding planning is virtually non-existant while we deal with paying for and moving into this house, but I’m still coming up with ideas in my head. And I did go ahead and buy a dress. It’s beautiful! We won’t have a date for the wedding until we figure out how much money is left after purchasing the things we need for the house, but it will almost certainly be sometime in 2010. (Preferably sooner rather than later, but we’ll have to see how the finances work out.)

So as you can see, things have been very busy around here, which is why I haven’t gotten around to posting for the last two months. But I’ll try to get back in the habit now that I’m not spending every waking moment house hunting. (I’ll just be moving and wedding planning instead!) =) Until next time…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    August 14, 2009 8:21 pm

    Hmmm, saw this article, thought you might want to read it: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/15/health/15patient.html?em

Leave a Reply

