Skip to content

Bad Days

September 15, 2009

When it comes to dealing with Celiac disease, I still have bad days. Something minor will happen, and I’ll turn it into something much bigger than it should be and end up crying uncontrollably about how life isn’t fair. The most recent example: buying bread from the grocery store.

I now have a bread that I love. It’s called Udi’s, and it’s so far superior to every other gluten free bread I’ve tried, that I will never go back. I absolutely love it. The problem is that the only place I know of that sells it is Central Market, and the nearest location to my house is 30 minutes away. This really isn’t a big deal because there’s another location that’s only about 5 minutes from where I work. So ideally I can just go pick up a loaf (or 5) during my lunch break and bring it home with me later.

But this weekend I wanted bread right then, and it wasn’t convenient. Suddenly I got really angry and started yelling at my fiance for something that was no fault of his. I blamed him for not wanting to spend over an hour making a trip to a specialty store just to buy bread. It wasn’t my fault I couldn’t get bread at a more convenient location! This is my life now, and he should be more accommodating no matter how inconvenient!

… And then I was crying. I realized how stupid and selfish I was being. It would be so easy for me to buy the bread on Monday while I was at work instead of wasting so much time doing it right then. But I was angry at my body and at life for putting me in that position. Normal people don’t have to drive 30 minutes to get bread, why should I? Why do I have to have such a broken digestive system? Why can’t I be normal like I used to be? I cried for a good while, with my fiance – despite the blow up – speaking words of encouragement to help cheer me up. And he did.

Now life is back to normal, and I’m doing fine again.. until my next bad day.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    September 17, 2009 9:31 am

    I love you! /big hugs

Leave a Reply

