Skip to content

GF/CF/LF for 10 Days

November 24, 2009

The first thing you need to know about me is that I. LOVE. CHIPS & QUESO. It’s worse than that. I live off of it. In fact, I’m pretty sure it’s queso rather than blood running through my veins. I eat chips and queso probably 4 times a week or more (unhealthy, I know, but I just love it that much!!!).

So, when my new gastroenterologist told me yesterday that I should try a gluten free/casein free/lactose free diet for 10 days to see if I feel better, the first thing that went through my mind was “PLEASE DON’T LET THIS WORK!” Now don’t get me wrong. I’m really tired of feeling like crap all the time, and I want desperately to figure out the problem (or problems) and get it/them fixed. However, if it turns out that I am dairy intolerant on top of having Celiac disease, that will pretty much be the end of my world. Dairy is my favorite food group (right up there with sugar), and eliminating it will be pretty much equivalent to eating cardboard for 10 days. Milk, ice cream, butter – these are things that would be tough, but doable, to cut out. But I simply can’t imagine a life without cheese. AND OH NO! I JUST REALIZED THAT WOULD ALSO MEAN NO MILK CHOCOLATE! CAN THIS POSSIBLY BE ANY WORSE?

As much as I want to figure out what’s wrong with me, the ability to correctly process dairy better be what’s right! (Stay tuned next month to find out the results.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 10:55 pm

    Yikes, I hope not. I’m with you on the whole love of dairy and sugar thing 😀

    • gfgirlaustin permalink
      November 30, 2009 12:05 pm

      I was planning to start the 10-day diet today, but I realized that would mean I can’t go to the Alamo Celiac GF holiday breakfast and cookie exchange this weekend. So I’ll be starting it this Sunday (Dec. 6) instead. =)

  2. befitzge permalink
    February 21, 2010 10:27 pm


    I’m sure by now you have finished by diet…. I’m just now looking at your posts. But, I did want to give you a little bit of good news. Milk Chocolate does not contain milk. (Strange… I know).

    I wish you the best of luck in feeling better.

    (Befitzge is the author of Adventures in Gluten-Free Toddling. Check it out at

  3. Sabrina permalink
    February 22, 2010 3:55 pm

    I’m not sure where you heard that about milk chocolate, but it’s false. For example, the ingredients list of a Snickers bar reads “Milk chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, chocolate, skim milk, lactose, milkfat, soy lecithin, artificial flavor), peanuts, …” And from Wikipedia: “Milk chocolate is chocolate with milk powder, liquid milk, or condensed milk added.” So if you’re going dairy free, you definitely DO need to avoid milk chocolate.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: